From this moment on…

Hello!

I started this blog as a way to journal my upcoming trip to Washington D.C., and whatever other opportunities may come after.

I am excited to have been invited to attend “The United State of Women” summit, hosted by the White House, June 13 – 15, 2016 (I’ve even heard that the president and first lady might be there!)

The amazing support I have received since I announced that I was invited has been nearly overwhelming. As I take this trip I plan to take lots of pictures and video, which I will eventually turn into a documentary. So many have expressed their interest, support and concern that I wanted to let them go along with me for the ride as much as possible.

My great hope is to raise awareness to the plight of women who are leaving polygamy with very little education, job skills or resources.

I will be taking notes, taking names and introducing myself to everyone I can. I will share my story as my own testimony and example of what many others are enduring. But it’s not only my story. Couched within it is the story of many other women. I know this because they have told me so. They have thanked me – not only for telling part of my story, but parts of theirs as well.

Of course my journey didn’t start here. There is much to be told about the paths that I have taken that brought me to this point: an adventure fraught with rough roads, dangerous storms and seemingly impassible barriers to my freedom. Yes, there are many chapters that have come before this. Chapters that I will write about, someday.

You, my friends, have come into my story somewhere in the middle. There is much life that is behind me now, and hopefully much, much more ahead.

So, if you’re interested, this is your official invitation to come along with me from this moment on.

2 thoughts on “From this moment on…

  1. May I just say what a relief to find somebody who genuinely understands what they
    are talking about online. You actually know how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
    A lot more people really need to read this and understand this side of
    your story. I was surprised you aren’t more popular given that you definitely possess the
    gift.

    Like

  2. It looks like Naomie Jessop has escaped the FLDS. Check out Rachel Jeffs’s facebook page and you will see her in one of the pictures.

    Like

Leave a comment