Mr. Smith Goes to Washington II

Part Two

The second scene that had me riveted to the screen with tears streaming, was the Filibuster Scene. Where Mr. Smith, having been coached by his Clarissa Saunders – his secretary and friend – holds the floor and “speaks his piece.”

“In other words, I’ve got a piece to speak, and blow hot or cold, I’m going to speak!”

As the days go by and I get closer to my trip to Washington D.C., this is how I feel. I am going to speak.

Many times since I left the FLDS I have felt discouraged. I have felt as though saving my family, or seeing any real change was a lost cause. I felt like one little girl against a very powerful and evil organization – one that doesn’t hesitate to lie, deceive, abuse and harm others, seemingly without conscience and completely lacking in integrity. Sometimes it seems like an impossible task to achieve anything through kindness, truth and integrity when you’re battling such a powerful, aggressive, evil foe.

But I haven’t given up hope. When the feelings of despair and discouragement start to creep in and undermine my belief that I can change the world, when I feel like all hell is arrayed against me and wants me to give up, I have a new defense. I simply say,

“No sir, I will not yield!”


For those who are interested, or those who, like me, wanted to save a part of this to remember, I am inserting the transcription of this scene below:

The Filibuster Scene:

Mr. Smith – Well, I guess the gentlemen are in a pretty tall hurry to get me out of here. The way the evidence is piled up against me I can’t say I blame any of them – and I’m quite willing to go, sir, when they vote it that way, but before that happens I’ve got a few things that I want to say to this body. I tried to say them once before and I got stopped colder than a mackerel. Well, I’d like to get them said this time, sir. And as a matter of fact I’m not going to leave this body until I do get them said.

Paine – Will the senator yield?

Mr. Smith – No, sir, I’m afraid not. No sir. I yielded once before, and if you can remember I was practically not heard of again. No sir.

And we might as well all get together on this yielding business right off the bat now.

I had some pretty good coaching last night, and I find that if I yield only for a question or a point of order or a personal privilege that I can hold this floor almost until doomsday.

In other words, I’ve got a piece to speak. And blow hot or cold, I’m going to speak.

Paine – Will the senator yield?

Mr. Smith – Yield how, sir?

Paine – Yield for a question.

Mr. Smith – For a question, alright.

Paine – I wish to ask my colleague: this piece he intends to speak, does it concern section 40 of that bill about the dam at Willow Creek?

Mr. Smith – It does, sir.

Paine – Every aspect of this matter – the gentleman’s attack on that section – everything – was dealt with in committee hearing.

Mr. Smith – Mr. President…

Paine – I wish to ask my distinguished colleague, if he has one scrap of evidence to add now that he did not give, and could not give, at that same hearing?

Mr. Smith – I have no defense against forged papers!

Paine – The gentleman stands guilty as charged. And I believe I speak for every member, when I say that no one cares to hear what a man of his condemned character has to say about any section of any legislation before this house.

Mr. Smith – Mr. President, I stand guilty as framed! Because section 40 is graft, and I was ready to say so. I was ready to tell you that a certain man in my state, a Mr. James Taylor, wanted to put through this dam for his own profit. A man who controls a political machine. And controls everything else worth controlling in my state. Yes, and a man even powerful enough to control a congressman, and I saw three of them in his room the day I went up to see him…

Paine – Will the senator yield?

No, sir! I will not yield!

Mr. Smith – And this same man, Mr. James Taylor, came down here and offered me a seat in this senate for the next 20 years if I voted for a dam that he knew, and I knew, was a fraud. But if I dared open my mouth against that dam, he promised to break me in two. Alright, I got up here and I started to open my mouth, and the long and powerful arm of Mr. James Taylor reached into this sacred chamber and grabbed me by the scruff of the neck…

Paine – Mr. President, a point of order.

President – Senator Paine will state it.

Paine – Mr. President, it was I who rose in this chamber to accuse him. He’s saying that I was cutting out criminal orders on falsified evidence. He has accused me of conduct unworthy of senator and I demand that he be made to yield the floor.

Mr. Smith – Mr. President, I did not say that Senator Paine was one of the congressmen in that room.

Paine – I was in that room!

I accuse this man, by his tone, by his careful denials, he is deliberately trying to plant damaging impressions of my conduct.

I’ll tell you why we were in that room. Because Mr. Taylor, a respected citizen of our state, had brought with him the evidence against this man, and we were urging him to resign. Why? To avoid bringing disgrace upon a clean and honorable state, but he refused!

Mr. Smith – Mr. President, had I…

Paine – There is only one answer to a man like him – the truth – which I rose and gave to this body. Mr. President, he is trying to blackmail this Senate as he tried to blackmail me. To prevent his expulsion, he will probably even try to hold up this sufficiency bill – vital to the whole country – which must be passed immediately today.

Gentlemen, I have lost all patience with this brazen character, I apologize to this body for his appointment. I regret I ever knew him. I am sick and tired of this contemptible young man and I refuse to stay here and listen to him any longer. I hope every member of this body feels as I do.

Leave a Reply

